The acronym, VUCA, was first used in 1987 and stands for Volatility, Uncertainty, Complexity and Ambiguity, and is used to describe general conditions and situations. Introduced by the U.S. Army War College, VUCA was meant to describe the more volatile, uncertain, complex and ambiguous multilateral world as a result of the Cold War.

We are fortunate to have Dr. James A. Tompkins, one of the world’s leading supply chain thought leaders, to address the impacts of VUCA on today’s supply chains and commerce. In fact, Jim recently stated that “the impacts of digital commerce on supply chains and commerce are far greater than the ending of the Cold War in 1991.The lifting of the Iron Curtain was minuscule when compared to the impacts of VUCA on how business works and how people live.”

Make sure to join our webinar on December 5th and hear Dr. Tompkins present on the following topics:

  • How the pace of change in supply chain requirements is driven by the increase on the RPM of the Disruption Cycle
  • How the level of uncertainty in today’s digital commerce demands optionality
  • How “Sell Anywhere” and Uni-channel, Uni-marketing, Uni-logistics and Uni-technology is driving complexity
  • How obsolete demand planning and the titans of commerce have driven ambiguity throughout commerce

December 5th, 2019 9:30 AM PST, 12:30 PM EDT, 5:30 PM BST

Supply Chain Brief’s webinars are applicable for the Institute of Supply Chain Management (ISM) recertifications. Attendance of this webinar will earn one continuing education unit (CEU) toward your CPSM® or CPSD™ recertifications.

Sponsored by: